Cold Spell

Last December, I order enouch velour from Fabric.com to make two sets of work clothes. I got the plum velour set done quickly, because I was cold. I also fell for a cute outfit from the Curves clothing line. So, the pressure was off on the second set of velour, even though it was cut. In January I started getting bored with two sets and made the heather velour pants…and even piped the side seams! I had originally planned to do the piping with leftovers from the plum, but didn’t have anything long enough. A quick search through all the pink, purple and blue knits in the stash found a pink that had shrunk too much in the prewash to make its original target, but was the perfect color and an interesting texture for piping. And the pants looked pretty good with the plum jacket.

Then the weather got unseasonably warm. Taking with it my interest in sewing velour jackets. Sigh.

Which brings us to the unexpected cold snap — well, not a snap so much as a precipitous descent from 80 degrees to 2 inches of snow — we had this week. Gave me enough of a push to finish the jacket and even wear it to work once before, I hope, putting it away for the summer. Ta da!

heathervelourfront_web.jpg

Pattern: Burda World of Fashion May 2004, #134. I traced my usual 44 shoulders/sleeve cap and 48 body. I left out the pockets, since I’d just stick my hands in there and pooch it out. It’s too wide, which could be due a) to stretching during the months it kicked around my sewing room in pieces, b) to a change in Burda’s draft that means my current fixes don’t apply to earlier patterns, c) to drafting it big to allow it to be worn over the vest in the same grouping, or d) to some sort of weird knit stretching zone in my sewing room. Since the tee I made last weekend also came out wide, I’m leaning toward d.

Overall, I’m quite pleased. I’ve never piped something this painlessly before.

Leave a Reply

