Summer Pants

In an astonishing display of promptness, I actually made something with fabric purchased in Tulsa on the 17th and wore it to a guild meeting on the 1st! I really, really liked this paisley rayon/linen blend I bought at the Cloth Merchants and whipped up a TNT Burda WOF pattern 5/2005 #137. I fiddled a lot with the crotch curve last time I made the pants and the effort to transfer the changes back to the pattern really paid off — I didn’t have to make a single change, just sew, mark the waistline and race to the finish line. I may be feeling a trifle smug on this score..

.
paisleypantside_web.jpg

I’m using a side view because I’m particularly impressed with myself on the lovely hang of the pants (which is probably due mostly to the really great fabric which I worked hard not to screw up by cutting off grain).

The side view also shows of the fit of the top, which has a nicely level hem…the holy grail for we busty girls. The pattern is also Burda WOF from a couple of years ago. I cut this one using my usual adjustments, sewed it in a hurry and wore it to the Blue Man Group concert. Very annoying to wear — the hem was wonky and the whole shirt shifted back and forth. While driving home after the concert, I was finally able to put the problem into words, which, as usual, solved it. I walked in the door about midnight, grabbed my pins and pinned 1 inch tucks center front and back. Perfect! After comparing the shirt to the pattern and to another shirt, i decided that blame lay about 25% in the pattern and 75% in the fabric. The fabric is a nifty puckery knit from Needle Nook, and it appears that the fabric is both stretchy from being a knit and stretchy from being puckery and when I cut the fabric it relaxed into a shirt 4 inches too big around. Now that it’s fixed, it’s one of my favorites…almost always in the laundry.

I’ve got some more white knit…need to get it sewn up because you can never have too many white tee shirts!

2 Responses to “Summer Pants”

  1. mermaids Says:

    excellent job! the fit looks fabulous. and, yes, one can never have too many white tees.

    teri

  2. dailystitches Says:

    nice drape on the pants. I recently realized I could sew a better fitting elastic waist trouser in less time than it takes me to get to the mall for an ill-fitting, overpriced pair!

Leave a Reply

