A Pillowcase Experiment

This year’s ASG community service project is to make pillowcases for kids at Ronald McDonald Houses.  A few of us thought it might be nice to add a drawstring to the trim to allow the pillowcase to be used as a carrying bag as well.  As I thought about how to sew this, I was worried about adding knots or bows that would be uncomfortable to sleep on. As I was rethreading a drawstring through the waistband of a pair of workout pants(again), I was also thinking about how to keep the drawstring in the pillowcase through washing. So…I came up with this.

I turned the selvedge edges under on a 2-inch strip, cut it in half, and laid it out with a gap at the halfway point on the case:

pillowcase01webI made a drawstring out of another 2-inch strip by turning in the edges:

pillowcase_03-web

I threaded the drawstring through the trim, pinned everything at the edges, and sewed the drawstring into the sideseam.

The drawstring doesn’t really show:

pillowcase_04-webUntil you pull it out:

pillowcase_06-web

Ok, so here’s my problem.  I solved the comfort and loss-ability problems, but now I’m sort of worried about choking risks.  What do y’all think?

Tags: , ,

One Response to “A Pillowcase Experiment”

  1. rosewillow Says:

    Hi, your pillowcase looks lovely, and you are so good to make things for such a worthy cause! However, as the mother of a young child, I wouldn’t be happy about her sleeping with a pillowcase with a drawstring. Little ones like to fiddle with cords and strings, and they would definately be pulling out the cord to play with it. I don’t let my little one take necklaces or ribbons or anything like that into her bed at night because I worry she will get tangled in them and strangle herself. Best wishes.

Leave a Reply

